Unas Experiencias

 

Part of what makes my life interesting here are the unexpected experiences. I tend to have about 1 every day:)

A few days ago I went to the small icecream shop which is in the middle of campus. I really wanted a smoothie, so I asked the girl at the counter for a “liquido.” She was very confused for a minute and then started laughing. She went to the counter and picked up the soap. “you want liquido??? Liquido is for your hands. I can make you a licuado, but if you really want liquido…?”

The power went  out last night for about 12 hours. I realized how nice it is not to be fully dependent on light. When the power is out, everyone else is tripping around, and I’m living fairly normally:) The power goes out a lot around here, but last night was the longest I’ve seen so far!

I braided my hair a few days ago. I have about 85 this time. I did half and then one of the encargadas at the baby house did the other half. I thought I braided quickly until I saw her… she could braid one of these tiny braids in 1 minute! It was really a cool bonding experience with her. Her name is Glenda, but the girls call her Glendita because she is so small, and if Hondurans think she’s small… It was also cool to see how impressed the girls were that I, an American, could braid!

A few nights ago, we had a volunteer and staff dinner. We were calling it Thanksgiving because they don’t celebrate Thanksgiving here usually, and we had food other than beans and rice! The volunteers at the girl volunteers house were supposed to make dessert. None of us are rich, so we couldn’t figure out what to make with what we had. The volunteer house sometimes gets packages, and over the summer, we had received 12 boxes of orio crumbs, not whole orios, but literally bags of crumbs. One volunteer, Anna, figured out how to make brownies by mixing the crumbs with margarine, and milk and baking the mixture. They are actually really good despite the fact that the orios were stale! Then also, we had a box full of packs of salteens, so a few of us made “salteen toffee” by covering a pan of salteens with carmel and topping with chocolate and nuts. Honestly we were a little nervous to bring our desserts because we knew what they were made of and a couple pans (that we weren’t bringing) had gone really wrong, but when we got there, people kept coming up and saying how amazing the desserts were. Several times I was so close to laughing that I could hardly say thank you for fear of busting up!

I am now the only volunteer at the baby house. There were 2 others when I got here, but they have now left. There is not a ton of work to do, but I am always busy with one small job or another. On Wednesday, though, 9 more volunteers are going to be here, 8 from Denmark and 1 from the states.

I have also started running every other night. I have realized that this is not a normal activity in Honduras. I have heard little kids laughing at me when I run past, and one of the older boys told another volunteer, “I see these Americans; they like to run!”

Please keep me in your prayers, especially because I have been sick frequently here. Please pray for increased energy and health.

Pray also for wisdom as I reach into the lives of the girls at the baby house!

I hope to start teaching some music lessons soon, but I honestly have no idea what that will look like.

Leave a Reply

